analysis of fats and oils, nitrogen derivatives, alkyd resins, and gas liquid chromatography. AOCS: Chm. Peroxide Comm., 1955-58; Chm. Statistical Comm., 1957-62; Minneapolis Short Course, 1959; Minneapolis Convention, 1963; Chm. Standards Comm., 1962-68; Program Chm. Minneapolis Meeting, 1969; Member Spectroscopy Comm., 1957-; Gas Chromatography Comm., 1961-; Instrumental Techniques Comm., 1962-; National Program and Planning Committee, 1968-; Chm. Industrial Oils and Derivatives Analysis Comm., 1969-.

L.D. MC CLUNG (1955)

Chief Chemist, Best Foods Div. CPC International Inc., San Francisco. B.A. University of California, Berkeley, 1950. AOCS: Northern California Section Secretary 1961, 1966; Chm. 1967. Program Chm. San Francisco Meeting 1969. National Program and Planning Comm., 2nd V.C., 1970.

J.F. MEAD (1959)

Professor of Biological Chemistry, University of California at Los Angeles and Associate Director, Laboratory of Nuclear Medicine and Radiation Biology. A.B., Princeton University, 1938; Ph.D., California Institute of Technology, 1942. Assistant Professor of Chemistry, Occidental College, 1945-47; Research Coordinator, Office of Naval Research, 1947-48; Section Chief (1948-51), Division Chief (1951-), Assistant Director (1968-), Laboratory of Nuclear Medicine and Radiation Biology; Associate Professor (1954), Professor (1957-), UCLA Department of Biological Chemistry; Visiting Professor, University of Athens, 1964 and 1969; Career Research Award, NIH, 1963-; Metabolism Study Section and Biochemistry and Nutrition Study Section, NIH, 1966-69; Advisory Council of Pathogenesis, American Cancer Society, 1966-68; Council of Advisors, Association for Advancement of Aging Research; Associate Editor, J.

Lipid Research, 1960-63; Progress in the Chemistry of Fats and Other Lipids, 1960-; Lipids, 1965-; J. Physiological Chemistry and Physics, 1968-.

F.C. NAUGHTON (1955)

Manager, Development Department, Baker Castor Oil Co., Bayonne, N.J. Chemical Engineering, Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn 1947; M. Ch. Eng., Polytechnic Institute of Brooklyn, 1952; Research Chemical Engineer, National Lead Company Research Laboratories 1947-50; Instructor, Pratt Institute of Technology 1948-49; AOCS: Northeast Section Director, 1963-64, 1968-69; Secretary, 1964-65; Vice President, 1965-66; President 1967-68; Symposium Chairman 1971; Achievement Award Comm., 1969; Convention Committees: New York 1960; Philadelphia 1966; Registration Chm., New York 1968; General Co-Chm Atlantic City Fall Meeting 1971; Site Selection Comm., New York 1977; General Chm., New York 1977. Member Nominating and Election Comm. 1966, 1971; Local Chairman Short Course Comm., Pocono Manor, Pa., 1968; Member Education Comm. 1968-70; Member Communications Comm. 1968-; Member Meetings Planning Comm. 1969-.

K.T. ZILCH (1955)

Technical Director, Fatty Acid Division, Emery Industries, Cincinnati, Ohio. Supervised Quality Control, Analytical Research, Process Research, Applications Research, Fundamental Research. Research Chemist, Group Leader 1955-59; Manager, Fatty Acid Research Section, 1959-61. Ph.D., Organic Chemistry, University of Missouri, 1949. Officer in Armed Forces, 1943-46, Pilot. Research Chemist, USDA, Peoria, Ill., 1949-55; Instructor, Bradley University, Peoria, Ill., 1950-52. AOCS: Co-Chm., Cincinnati Convention 1965; Advertising Comm., 1967-; Chm. National Program Planning Comm., 1969; Co-Chm., Fatty Acid Short Course, 1969. Board Member-at-Large, 1970-

Call for Nominations for Eighth AOCS \$2,500 Award in Lipid Chemistry

Sponsored by Applied Science Laboratories

In April 1964 the Governing Board of the American Oil Chemists' Society established an Award in Lipid Chemistry under the sponsorship of the Applied Science Laboratories Inc., State College, Pennsylvania. Previous awards were presented as follows: Erich Baer, August 1964; Ernest Klenk, October 1965; H.E. Carter, October 1966; Sune Bergstrom, October 1967; Daniel Swern, October 1968; H.J. Dutton, October 1969 and E.P. Kennedy, September 1970.

The award consists of \$2,500 accompanied by an appropriate certificate. It is now planned that the eighth award will be presented at the AOCS Fall Meeting in Atlantic City, Oct. 2-6, 1971.

Canvassing Committee Appointees

Policies and procedures governing the selection of award winners have been set forth by the AOCS Governing Board. An Award Nomination Canvassing Committee has been appointed. Its membership is R.J. Sims, Chairman; W.P. Gibble, L.H. Widermann, D.L. Berner and T.J. Weiss. The function of this committee is to solicit nominations for the eighth award. Selection of the award winner will be made by the Award Committee whose membership will remain anonymous.

Rules

The rules prescribe that nominees shall have been responsible for the accomplishment of original research

in lipid chemistry and must have presented the results thereof through publication of technical papers of high quality. Preference will be given to individuals who are actively associated with research in lipid chemistry and who have made fundamental discoveries that affect a large segment of the lipid field. For award purposes, the term "lipid chemistry" is considered to embrace all aspects of the chemistry and biochemistry of fatty acids, of naturally occurring and synthetic compounds and derivatives of fatty acids, and of compounds that are related to fatty acids metabolically, or occur naturally in close association with fatty acids or derivatives thereof. The award will be made without regard for national origin, race, color, creed or sex.

Letters of nomination together with supporting documents must be submitted in octuplicate to R.J. Sims, General Foods Corp., Technical Center, White Plains, N.Y., before the deadline date of April 15, 1971. The supporting documents shall consist of professional biographical data, including a summary of the nominee's research accomplishments, a list of his publications, the degrees he holds, together with the names of the granting institutions, and the positions held during his professional career. There is no requirement that either the nominator or the nominee be a member of the American Oil Chemists' Society.

Remember the DEADLINE, April 15, 1971